Project AWARE
December 19, 2017
December 20, 2017

Predive safety check

A standard pre-dive safety check consists of five steps. As an instructor, I have found that it helps divers to run through the steps of the pre-dive safety check in the same order before every dive. Divers are less likely to forget a step when they use a methodical system. The steps of the pre-dive safety check are:

1. Buoyancy Compensator
2. Weights
3. Releases
4. Air
5. Final Okay

PADI uses an acronym to help divers remember the steps in order –
Begin With Review And Friend
Creative dive instructors around the world have come up with other acronyms to remember the check, some more politically correct than others.

Comments are closed.